Protect Your Facebook Privacy the Right Way

Facebook privacy hoax alert!

Facebook privacy hoax alert!

A Facebook friend of mine — who happens to be a real-life friend, we grew up together, and he was the first boy I ever kissed — recently posted a warning on Facebook about protecting your privacy.

It read like this:

Hello, my FB friends:
Just a reminder and thanks if you have already...... I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. However, with the recent changes in FB, the "public" can now see activities in ANY wall. This happens when our friend hits "like" or "comment" ~ automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way.
PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (DO NOT CLICK), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS" (also without clicking), then down to "Settings", click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on "COMMENTS & LIKE" and also "PHOTOS" . By doing this, my activity among my friends and family will no longer become public.
Now, copy and paste this on your wall. Once I see this posted on your page I will do the same.
Thanks!!!

Unfortunately, although my friend is right to be concerned about the ability of complete strangers to see his Facebook posts, he's been taken in by a hoax that's been making the rounds. Following his instructions will not protect his privacy. It will only unsubscribe me (an actual real-life friend) from his comments, likes & photos.

Here's more info about this hoax.

Timeline & Tagging Privacy Settings

Timeline & Tagging Privacy Settings

Who can see what others post on your timeline?

Who can see what others post on your timeline?

Choose the Custom setting option

Choose the Custom setting option

Choose Friends. Uncheck Friends of those tagged. Click Save Changes.

Choose Friends. Uncheck Friends of those tagged. Click Save Changes.

The Right Way

Here's the right way to protect your Facebook privacy, and it does not depend on your friends doing anything:

  1. Go to your own Facebook privacy settings.
  2. In the "Timeline & Tagging" section, click "Edit Settings."
  3. Where it asks "Who can see what other post on your timeline?" it's probably set at the Facebook default "Friends of Friends." Don't just change that to "Friends." Rather, select "Custom," because there's another setting you want to change.
  4. For "Make this visible to" select "Friends."
  5. Also uncheck "Friends of those tagged"
  6. Save your changes special info.

Now you've protected your own privacy.

You'll want to check the various other privacy settings while you're in there, to see if there's anything else you want to change.

There's no need to panic over your Facebook privacy. Facebook does provide us with the necessary tools to protect our own privacy. Unfortunately, they hide those tools pretty well, and the defaults are too public.

Speak Your Mind

*

%d bloggers like this: